Florida Tattoo Education FAQs
New Law — Effective January 1st 2013 — As part of new license requirements, each tattoo artist and guest tattoo artist is required to complete a DOH-approved bloodborne pathogen and communicable disease course.
Is this course a requirement for all tattoo artists working in Florida?
Yes. A law effective September 2012 requires Florida tattoo artists and establishments to complete the State of Florida's Department of Health educational requirements for training on bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases. This is part of a new licensure requirement as outlined by Chapter 64E-28 of the Florida Statutes on Tattooing.
When do I have to complete this education requirement?
A copy of the certificate of completion of an FDOH-approved training course must be provided upon application for licensure.
If I'm a guest tattoo artist from another state applying for temporary licensure to work in Florida, do I need to take this course?
Yes. The FDOH requires all tattoo artists working in the state to take the course or present documentation confirming the artist has taken a similar course that meets the State's minimum requirements.
If I'm a guest artist who has taken and passed a similar course in another state, do I need to take this course to be licensed as a guest tattoo artist in Florida?
The FDOH must review the out-of-state course. If it determines the course and documentation of completion meets the minimum requirements, it will approve it as meeting the requirements. If it determines the course doesn't meet minimum requirements for Florida licensure, you will have to take the FDOH-approved course and submit the Certificate of Completion upon application for guest tattoo artist licensure.
Can I take this course on my mobile device?
Unlike many current online courses, this course is designed for multiple platforms and may be taken on a computer, tablet or mobile device.
How long is the course?
The course is the state-required minimum of 3 hours.
Is there a final exam included in the course?
As required by the FDOH, the time to take the final exam is not included as part of the 3-hour course timeframe. The exam consists of 50 multiple choice questions and can be completed at the student's own pace.
What happens if I don't pass the final exam?
Students have three attempts to pass the course with a minimum score of 70 percent. If you do not pass after the 3rd attempt, contact our customer service and they will assist you: 1-800-393-1063.
How soon do I get my Certificate of Completion?
Once the final exam is completed with a minimum score of 70 percent, your Certificate of Completion is available for immediate download.
What do I need to apply for a tattoo license in Florida?
In addition to the course, you will need to fill out an application and send the required forms. We have the license application requirements for you to easily access and complete. Guest tattoo artists need to register for the state. Information about guest tattoo artist registration can be found here.
Are there any special requirements for taking this course?
This course features identity validation requirements as required by the state of Florida for online courses. Our identity validation will require personal information such as your name, date of birth, address as it is listed on your government-issued ID, and the last four digits of your social security number. If you do not have a social security number or are unwilling to provide this information, you will be ineligible to participate in this online course.