How to Get a Florida Tattoo License
Complete the required state-approved tattoo education course — As of January 2013, the State of Florida Department of Health requires licensure of all tattoo artists and tattoo establishments operating within the State. As part of licensure, each applicant is required to meet the FDOH's education requirements on bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases as they relate to the tattoo setting, as well as to meet standards of practice and operational requirements as stated in Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code.
Have proof of completion of a state-approved tattoo education course (Guest Tattoo Artists) — Guest tattoo artists who hold an active license, registration or certification issued outside of the State of Florida and wish to operate within Florida are required to register with the FDOH. As part of the registration process, they must show proof they have completed an educational course on bloodborne pathogens and communicable disease that meets the requirements set forth by FDOH. If they have not taken and passed such an education course, they must take it through an FDOH-approved provider and submit proof of successful course completion at the time of registration.
Anyone who is currently operating as an unlicensed tattoo artist or establishment in the State of Florida will be subject to administrative penalties. And before applying for a tattoo license, it is recommended to contact the local County Health Department regarding local fees and the current mailing address for form submittal.
Submit your application for license with the required forms and payment — The forms required by the FDOH for tattoo artist and establishment licensure and guest artist registration are available to download below. With application, you will need to provide the following:
- $60 Fee
- If license is expired, a $25 reactivation fee
- Copy of government issued photo I.D. (you must be 18 years or older to apply)
- Copy of certificate of completion of tattoo education (bloodborne pathotens and communicable diseases course)
- Application for Tattoo Establishment License
- Application for Tattoo Artist License
- Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration
Please visit floridahealth.gov to confirm the most up to date information for your records.